The Kentucky Derby winner horse gets famous instantly when it wins the race at Churchill Downs. 2016 was considered the 142nd running of the KD (Kentucky Derby) at Churchill Downs.  The Kentucky Derby is the most important race for 3-year-old Thoroughbreds in North America.  Here you can find some of the great horses who won the “Run for the Roses” in the history of Kentucky Derby horse race.

Secretariat 1973:

In the year 1973, the Secretariat broke the all-time record and it became the fastest runner ever at 1:59.40minutes that is a track record for the 1 ¼ mile distance at CD (Churchill Downs).  Secretariat continued to win the Triple Crown and was titled as the Horse of the Years and the Champion 3-year-old, record breaker for 1973. Till date, he is considered as the best and the fastest Thoroughbred ever. In 2013, Secretariat had celebrated its 40th anniversary of the Kentucky Derby.

Monarchos 2001:

In 2001, Monarchos stunned everyone with his win in the Kentucky Derby with its fastest running, which completed the race in 1:59.97 minutes and it became the second fastest Derby in the history. He was not positioned in the Preakness and positioned 3rd in the Belmont Stakes.  Currently, he is staying at Nuckols farm, Kentucky.

Northern Dancer 1964

Northern Dancer was the 3rd fastest Kentucky Derby racehorse that has won the race in 2:00 minutes exactly. This 3-year-old Canadians bred continued to win in Florida Derby, Flamingo Stake, Preakness, Blue Grass Stakes, and Queen’s Plate along with the Kentucky Derby. Northern Dancer positioned 3rd in the Belmont and after that he was retired, and it became one of the most powerful and influential Thoroughbreds ever in the history.

Spend a Buck 1985

Spend a Buck was the winner horse of 1985 Kentucky Derby. It ran 5 ¼ lengths in 2:00.20 minutes and became the 4th fastest Derby winner. He was titled the Horse of the Year in 1985 and also Champion 3-year-old Colt. Spend a Buck did not participate in the rest of the Triple Crown because it was scheduled to run Jersey Derby as he was eligible for 2 million dollar bonus for the win in the GSS (Garden State Stakes). He also won the JD (Jersey Derby) and collected the 2 million dollar bonus.

Decidedly 1962

Decidedly won the 1962 Kentucky Derby in 2:00.40minutes by 2 ¼ lengths and became the 5th fastest racehorse at Churchill Downs.  This gray colt was raised by Determine, who also won the 1954 Derby.  Decidedly ran till age 5 and then retired and remained in the history with a record of 11 wins, 4 thirds, and 9 seconds in 43 initiated with earnings of 318,989 dollars.

Proud Clarion 1967

Proud Clarion was a big disappointment as he won in 30-1 odds of the Kentucky Derby in the year 1967 in 2:00.60 minutes and became the 6th fastest racehorse ever.  He continued to win the 3rd in the Preakness and it was not placed in the Belmont Stakes.

Grindstone 1996

Grindstone started from 15th and won the race by pushing itself in the last second in 1996 in 2:01.06 minutes and became the 7th fastest racehorse ever.  It was trained by the famous D. Wayne Lukas, who was the winner of the Kentucky Derby. Grindstone was retired just after the Derby because of the injury.


Previous articleDerby TV Schedule
Next articleKentucky Derby Betting